Destination‎ > ‎

Travel to Tohoku Region

Tohoku region is the northeast region of Japan’s mainland and it consists of six distinct prefectures: Aomori, Akita, Iwate, Yamagata, Miyagi, and Fukushima. A hidden gem among the tourist areas of Japan, Tohoku has countless treasures for explorers to discover all year round. It contains UNESCO world heritage sites, extraordinary nature, samurai towns and castles, irresistible cuisine, renowned hot springs, impressive festivals, and a fascinating dialect.

Tohoku is unlike any other region due to its location, mountainous landscape and coastal borders so it offers a remarkably unique side of Japan that is often overlooked, making it a must-visit region for travelers looking for a fresh destination.